RSUA Design Awards 2018

Call for Entries 2018

Architects across Northern Ireland and beyond have been invited to enter the RSUA Design Awards 2018. The primary purpose of the Awards is to promote excellence in the design of our built environment with the aim of making Northern Ireland a better place for everyone.

New in 2018

Starting from 2018 the RSUA Design Awards will be run annually rather than every second year. We have also agreed a partnership with RIBA so that RSUA Awards will double up as the RIBA Northern Ireland Awards. Winning an RSUA Award is now the first step to being considered for a UK-wide RIBA Award.

Award Categories

When entering the Awards this year architects don’t have to enter projects into a specific category. Regardless of project type or value all entries will be considered for a headline award simply called an RSUA Design Award 2018.

Projects that win an RSUA Design Award 2018 will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize -Northern Ireland’s building of the year and will be considered for a RIBA National Award. The judges may also give the following discretionary awards:

  • Conservation Award
  • Project Architect of the Year
  • Client of the Year
  • Small Project of the Year
  • Sustainability Award
  • House of the Year
  • Housing Development of the Year
  • Integration of Art Award
  • Living Places Award


To be eligible for an RSUA Design Award 2018 projects must be in Northern Ireland and have been completed between 1 November 2015 and 1 February 2018.

Entry fees

The entry fee for small projects can be as low as £85.50 but for projects over £20m it can be as high as £710. Full details can be found via the link to enter the awards below.

Entry Deadlines

The deadline to enter the awards is 27 February 2018 but architects can save money by getting in early. Discounted fees are available for entries submitted by 13 February 2018.

Enter the Awards

The entry process for the RSUA Design Awards 2018 will be completely online via the RIBA’s Awards portal. Click here to find out full details of the entry process and to start preparing your submission.

Gala Evening

The Gala Evening for the Awards is traditionally one of the highlights of the year and an occasion not to be missed. It will be held on Friday 18th May 2018 at the Whitla Hall, Queens University Belfast. The building was designed by local architect John McGeagh along with Edward Maufe of London and won a RIBA Architecture Medal in 1950.