Nine projects shortlisted for RSUA Design Awards 2022


The search for the best works of architecture in Northern Ireland in 2022 has been narrowed down to the final nine following a rigorous judging process by an expert panel of architects from across Ireland and Great Britain. Each of the projects shortlisted for the Royal Society of Ulster Architects (RSUA) Design Awards will now be visited for a second round of judging and the winners will be announced in late April.

Ciarán Fox, Director of the Royal Society of Ulster Architects welcomed the news, commenting “Buildings have an enormous impact on our lives and that is why it is so important we get them right. Not only for the people who are in them every day, but also for the occasional visitor, the neighbour, the passerby and very importantly, for our natural environment.”

“I congratulate the architects, clients and wider teams involved in delivering these nine projects. Having assessed this year’s submissions the distinguished judging panel has concluded that each of these works of architecture have demonstrated some element of delight, invention or ambition that deserves a more thorough examination.”

“The nine shortlisted buildings will no doubt enrich the lives of the communities they serve – the central tenet of all great pieces of architecture. The list includes a diverse mix of both public and private buildings from across the region, but it is particularly positive to see a number of entries being shortlisted from areas such as West Belfast and Derry.”

“I am pleased to say this year’s award schemes included the introduction of new entry criteria designed to ensure the competition remains the most robust measure of the best architecture emerging from Northern Ireland. The buildings submitted were required to have been in use for at least one year before they could be put forward so that the judging panel could better evaluate the sustainability and overall performance of these projects. RSUA will continue raise the bar in relation to the way our built environment is assessed, ensuring that the focus is not just on aesthetics but the full range of design considerations including crucially the environmental impact and carbon footprint.”

  • Altnagalvin Hospital, Derry for HLM November 2020

Throughout March all shortlisted schemes will be visited by the judging panel. The winners of this year’s RSUA Design Awards will be announced at a ceremony on Friday 29 April 2022 in the Great Hall at Queen’s University, Belfast.

This beautiful banqueting space sits at the centre of one of the most important Grade-A listed red-brick and sandstone structures in Belfast, the Lanyon building, and is arguably the most important pieces of architecture within the Queen’s University estate. The renovation of the building, which saw the restoration of carved stone elements, the repair and replacement of zinc window frames as well as brand-new wooden paneling throughout the Great Hall, was named as an RSUA Design Award winner in 2021 and was also commended in the conservation category. It provides an excellent example of how well designed and properly conserved architecture can last for centuries and will be a fitting venue for this year’s prestigious awards ceremony.

Projects that win an RSUA Design Award will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize – Northern Ireland’s building of the year and will be considered for a UK-wide RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence.

The projects that have been shortlisted are:

Project nameLocationArchitect(s)
Altnagelvin Acute Hospital – North Wing DevelopmentDerryHLM Architects and Hall Black Douglas
Áras na bhFálBelfastARdMackel Architects with Paul McAlister Architects
Áras Uí ChonghaileBelfastMcGurk Architects
Davagh Forest ObservatoryCookstownARC-EN
Erskine HouseBelfastTODD Architects
Everogue LaneCrossgarHall Black Douglas
House at Lough BegBellaghyMcGonigle McGrath
House in the GlebeBallymenaMarshall McCann Architects
North West Multi Modal Transport HubDerryConsarc Design Group

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will then be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects, and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.