Catch the worm


We all know that early birds catch the worm.  The same applies to the RSUA Design Awards 2020.  Entries are coming in from right across Northern Ireland and if you enter your project before 6 February you’ll pay a reduced rate.


This is the third year of the alignment between the RSUA and RIBA awards.  Our partnership with RIBA means that RSUA Awards will double up as the RIBA Northern Ireland Awards. Winning an RSUA Award is now the first step to being considered for a UK-wide RIBA Award.

Award Categories

When entering the Awards this year you don’t have to enter your project into a specific category. Regardless of project type or value, all entries will be considered for a headline award simply called an RSUA Design Award 2020.

Projects that win an RSUA Design Award 2020 will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize – Northern Ireland’s building of the year and will be considered for a RIBA National Award. The judges may also give the following discretionary awards:

  • Conservation Award
  • Project Architect of the Year
  • Client of the Year
  • Small Project of the Year
  • Sustainability Award
  • House of the Year
  • Housing Development of the Year
  • Integration of Art Award
  • Living Places Award


To be eligible for an RSUA Design Award 2020 projects must be in Northern Ireland and have been completed between 1st November 2017 and 1st February 2020.

Entry fees

The entry fee for small projects can be as low as £85.50 but for projects over £20m it can be as high as £710. Full details can be found via the link to enter the awards below.

Entry Deadlines

The deadline to enter the awards is 20th February 2020 but you can save money by submitting by 6th February 2020.

Enter the Awards

The entry process for the RSUA Design Awards 2020 will be completely online via the RIBA’s Awards portal. Click here to find out full details of the entry process and to start your submission.

Gala Evening

The Gala Evening for the Awards is traditionally one of the highlights of the year and an occasion not to be missed. It will be held on Friday 15th May 2020.